Why CPL (cost-per-lead) is not immune to click fraud
What is cost-per-lead?
Cost-per-lead (or CPL) advertising, is a where advertising is paid for based on the leads that are generated from it. It’s different to CPM (cost-per-thousand impressions) or CPC (cost-per-click).
For example, if a campaign was agreed at $20 CPL, and generated 10 leads, the payment for the media would be calculated at $20 x 10 = $200.
Google Ads does offer CPL terms to some eligible customers for Google campaigns.
Surely bots can’t create fake leads?
On the surface, you’d think that only paying for genuine clicks would be a sure-fire way to beat click fraud.
Unfortunately, the fraudsters are one step ahead.
They already know that advertisers often have conversion tracking set up to monitor the success of their campaigns. And they know that bot clicks would be pretty easy to spot if their conversion rate (CR) was consistently 0.0%.
So bots look for your lead forms, and they fill those in.
Even if you have a CAPTCHA on the form, they can use captcha solving services to evade it.
Astonishingly, when you Google “captcha solving services”, you’ll see that these firms actually pay for ads on Google!
In fact, anyone who’s ever run ads on Google Display Network (GDN) will understand this problem well. It’s very clear that one form fill is not always equal to another. Sometimes it’s VERY difficult to sort the good from the bad.
How do fraudsters make fake leads look real?
Although some bots will still just fill in garbage, many sites have anti-spam measures in place to filter out meaningless form completions.
This has meant that bots have had to adapt over time too.
There’s already literally millions of hacked personal records available to buy on the dark web, and all the bots need is a simple list of name, phone number, email, and address. Most hacks include all this info at a minimum.
So the bots are fed with a database of real personal details, that are indistinguishable from genuine high-intent leads. Problem solved.
Real people, useless leads
That’s one type of CPL fraud, where fake leads are 100% automated.
But another type of fraud is where forms are filled in by real people, but under false pretenses.
If a high volume of traffic can be driven to a site promising “fill in this form to win $100k” and the link goes straight to your lead form page, it’s still easier to drive a CPL conversion like this than to find someone genuinely interested in a more niche offer.
Always keep an eye on your referring domains to check where the ads driving your CPL campaigns are placed.
It won’t show you the actual ad, but it may offer you an early indication if there is fraud at play.
It’s not all about the money
But despite all of this, if you’re only paying for a lead, what’s the problem?
Well, assuming you can sort the worthwhile leads from the junk (and that isn’t always easy), there’s something else at stake here. And this could cost you A LOT of money into the future.
We're talking about your conversion data (the signal to ad networks that a lead has converted successfully).
In a world where targeting is getting more and more difficult, first-party data such as this is more and more important. Good, clean conversion data is now key to running successful online marketing campaigns.
If your conversion data is being diluted with fake or invalid leads, how can the ad networks learn to optimize towards genuine leads?
The answer is to identify the bots and stop them from polluting your data.
How to identify bot leads
One way to sift out the good clicks from the bad clicks, is Hitprobe, our click fraud defense suite that gives you many click fraud superpowers such as:
- Getting deep insight into every click
- Integration with Google Tag Manager and a JavaScript API to help you to take actions on your site when suspicious visits are identified
- Audience exclusion support for Google Ads and Meta Ads
- IP and referrer domain blocking support
How to stop CPL fraud
Now you're identifying suspect visits to your forms, you need to identify suspicious clicks before they reach your lead form, and then take action:
- Add the visit to an audience exclusion list so that ad networks know to exclude the data from their optimizations
- Block the IP from sending further traffic — an imperfect measure but still worthwhile
- Stop the form being submitted, or at least mark it as suspect so your team can deprioritize it
Fraud in lead generation relationships
Even if you’re not buying CPL media through major ad networks, it’s still good practice to protect the traffic you receive with click fraud protection.
Tools such as Hitprobe can profile and monitor traffic from any source.
It makes it easy to spot anomalies however you drive your lead generation:
- Affiliates
- Franchise networks
- Lead generation providers
- Small/niche PPC networks
- Multi-level marketing
- Outsourced sales teams